Remember, Remember

So Friday was Guy Fawkes day – Guy Fawkes (or bonfire night) for those unfamiliar is a night in the UK where people celebrate a failed assassination attempt on the King in 1605 – and back then lighting bonfires was a way of celebrating stuff like this

Guy Fawkes night occurs on November 5th and people remember the date by a poem that starts… ‘Remember Remember the 5th of November’ (there is more but no one seems to know the rest) which is lovely however marginally useless to me as the date part doesn’t rhyme and is totally interchangeable – for example on Friday (the 5th) I was at the bank and I had to write the date down so I looked at the teller and I said what is today’s date to which she replied ‘Remember, Remember’ which I looked back at her and said…the fourth? Sadly not much rhymes with fifth though so I might just have to commit that one to memory – especially since I’m taking the “Life in the UK” test next month as the first step to permanent residency.

I am feeling slightly better after visiting the site and seeing that included amongst the facts about the UK is the ability to use a keyboard and a mouse…they even have a helpful tutorial and game to help you out – thankfully I passed that bit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remember, Remember

  1. Helen T says:

    Remember, Remember the fifth november
    Gunpowder, treason and plot.
    I see no reason, why gunpowder treason
    Should ever be forgot!

    That’s the full rhyme, just for future reference.

  2. Pingback: When in doubt, choose C | Adrienne's blog

Leave a Reply

