WTF? Friday

So I was sitting here reading the morning gossip news and I heard some really loud ‘coo-ing’ and a rustling noise coming from our spare room. I walked in to see this guy standing on the window sill (it usually isn’t littered with paint pots and screwdrivers I promise).

Morning Pigeon

I was a bit nervous that he would start flying around the room but he just casually walked in and out of the window a few times not phased by me at all.

This illustrates another thing that the Brits don’t use…window screens! We have been in many of our friends flats and not one of them has screens…nor do they seem to want them. Now, the North American in me assumed that if you didn’t have screens giant mutant bugs would invade your house and eat you in your sleep.  So far, that hasnt’ happened and besides a giant pigeon, we haven’t had anything bigger than a house fly buzzing around so I am okay with that.  Although, I have to wonder that if the pigeon did dive bomb at my head this morning, I would be singing a different tune on the screen issue.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WTF? Friday

  1. Kiz says:

    Hehe, that is damned funny…you wait until you are woken up at 7am by a pigeon flying round ur tiny bedroom…It wakes you up FAST ! You can get a type of screen/Netting that is similar to American screens, but temporary and stuck with velcro I think. Argos sell the possibly?

    Keep up the posts, im sure u know I LOVE ur blog..And I hope you read mine !

    • Adrienne says:

      I would go crazy if I woke up to that. I am not as terrified of birds as I am of spiders and other bugs but I still don’t think I would want to be woken by one!!
      I definitely read your blog, I liked your Part 1 post about stopping to appreciate the little things, it’s great advice.

  2. Pingback: (Another) Unwelcome guest « Adrienne’s blog

Leave a Reply

