Happy Birthday Ben

Today is Big Ben’s 150th birthday. Not sure how a giant clock celebrates it’s birthday but I think that starting by chiming 150 times would be cool (well, not for the neighbours). Big Ben is one of my favourite sights in London. It is quite spectacular to see as it is taller and much bigger than I expected (which is the total opposite of the Mona Lisa painting which is much smaller than I thought it would be).

If you are an iPhone user and love the big clock as much a I do, then you can download your very own Big Ben app for FREE today only.  Otherwise, you can enjoy some pictures I have taken of my favourite timekeeping landmark.

big ben 12

IMG_0021

England and wedding presents 016

On a side note, if you are a tourist and go to see Big Ben, watch your pockets as I hear it is a big place to get pick pocketed. It is quite smart if you think about it – a bunch of tourists get dropped off in front of the clock, gaze upwards ignoring their pockets and the fresh stack of British pounds they just took out of their hotel safe….tempting.

On another side note, it is also my Father in law’s birthday today as well so, Happy Birthday!!.  I must point out however that he isn’t turning 150 and isn’t bigger or taller than I expected 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday Ben

  1. Jenn Harvey says:

    I love Big Ben! Last time I was in England, back in 2000 I actually had the opportunty to go up the clock tower, and was standing right next to Ben as he chimed 3pm on an overcast April afternoon. It was so cool. I have a picture of my friend and I standing inside one of the clock faces.

    That is my story.

    Happy belated birthday Big Ben!

    • Adrienne says:

      I am officially jealous, I think that would have been awesome! My niece is coming to visit in August and she watched some cartoon that had a storyline about there being a tickle table (don’t ask me what that is I presume some sort of cartoon torture device) in there so she is convinced when she comes to visit she is going to see the tickle table…not sure how we will pull that one off!

  2. Jenn says:

    The guy who we stayed with worked for an MP (or whatever) and he got us up. There was another family there. Apparently if you write your MP they can set it up. Damn – I am blowing all my secrets. Of course that was also in a pre-911 world, so who knows now.

    Hmmm a tickle table. Good luck with that 🙂

    • Adrienne says:

      That’s amazing, I thought MP’s just got to expense things like moat cleaners and cat food, I didn’t know about the added Big Ben benefits…I should try and get one of those jobs.

Leave a Reply

