From dink to sink to nink…

Yes, that is right both the hubby and I are out of work  and are officially a no income no kids household…and I guess that means I have dropped from pank to just an ank.

I have realised that there are phases that you go through when unemployed similar to that of the grief cycle (denial, anger, acceptance)

I started with acceptance and for about a day I thought ‘hey this is cool I will take some time off and do all those things I couldn’t do with a job’.  Then I couldn’t remember anything I wanted to do other than going to the spa and that was too expensive.

Then I moved to panic and hit the ‘holy crap I need to get another job we aren’t earning income’ stage which include whoring out my CV to any and every job site that would accept it.  This was followed by a series of rejection letters for positions I applied for….its okay, I really didn’t want to be a ambulance driver or a bricklayer anyway.

Then I hit the distraction stage  where I decided to ignore the fact I was out of a job and be a tourist in London…although each day no matter where I went I ended up window shopping along Oxford Street planning all the new outfits I will buy when I have a job again.  I then distracted myself with domestic chores and spent two days cleaning the flat (including de-greasing the oven, descaling the kettle, washing the sofa cover and cleaning out my cleaning products).  Followed by a cooking day where I made banana cake with a cream cheese icing and a month’s supply of spaghetti bolognese…both turned out well but not spectacularly better than the store bought equivalents I have lived on for 3.5 years.

banana cake

Green park

I am looking forward to the next phase which I call celebration.  The huby has been bettering himself these past two weeks by taking a course during the day which meant I have had to navigate unemployment on my own which has been boring.  As a result I have compiled a list of things for the hubby and I to do to take advantage of this forced holiday.  Some of them include going to the Science Museum, doing the Jack the Ripper walk, hiring a paddle boat in Regents park and maybe even get out of London and see some of the English seaside….oh yeah and look for jobs.

I presume the unemployment cycle will finish with employment but hope it doesn’t happen until the celebration phase can be fully enjoyed….who said beggars can’t be choosers?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From dink to sink to nink…

  1. A says:

    Oh no.. hope you find work soon! Your a smart cookie – something will come along before you know it!
    In the mean time.. in between your job hunts.. try to enjoy a bit of time off! ;0)

    Chat soon!
    A

  2. Johnny says:

    Did you mean *Jack* the Ripper? 😉

    • Adrienne says:

      Hahahah am laughing loudly out loud to myself…can’t stop….hahah okay no idea where Frank the Ripper came from…I did know it was Jack, I would like to blame it on spell check but I think I have to chalk that one up to stupidity…whew that was funny.

Leave a Reply

