Fish and chips and pillows?

Why don’t they have plain white vinegar here….well they have vinegar here, malt vinegar, white wine vinegar, rice vinegar but not plain white vinegar.

I need it for two reasons…

1. It goes in both of my favourite summer salads (pasta and broccoli) and the only reason I haven’t made them in 3.5 years is because I can’t find the right vinegar (and has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that I haven’t really made anything in the past 3.5 years that wasn’t pre packaged, cooked, seasoned etc)
2. Its good at cleaning and disinfecting stuff and is cheap…I think at home you could get 5 gallons for 25 cents or something like that.  The reason this has come up is because I bought these pillows that you can wash in your washing machine and they suggested putting a bit of vinegar in the wash to kill the dust mites …now I am terrified of dust mites and want them all dead so need vinegar (but am happy to resort to bleach if I have to)

The wrong vinegar...for both my salad and my pillows

The wrong vinegar...for both my salad and my pillows

I have checked everywhere for my familiar white vinegar….well everywhere being our three major grocery chains and they don’t have it so that leads me to believe that white vinegar is something of a North American phenomenon. I did read that some people use malt vinegar and newspaper to clean their windows in the UK so is malt the equivalent to white vinegar? Could I really wash my pillows in malt vinegar?  I fear the hubby will wake up craving fish and chips if I do that….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fish and chips and pillows?

  1. Jo says:

    I think the distilled malt vinegar is what you are looking for, the one to the right in your picture.

    • Adrienne says:

      I might just have to go with it…I tried using it in the pasta salad last year and it tasted horrible…definitely not the right taste but might try it in the pillows 🙂

Leave a Reply

