Happy St Patrick’s Day

green-beer2

So it’s St Patrick’s day…a day to head to the pub for a pint of green beer. If you are Canadian/American you are nodding your head thinking back to previous St Patrick’s Days when you were in the bar watching the bartender drop a few drops of green food colouring into your pint or at the fancier pubs when they actually had a thing-a-ma-jig that dispensed green food colouring automatically as the pint was being pulled.

If you aren’t Canadian you probably think I am nuts as I recently found out that in fact they don’t drink green beer here or in Ireland.

We were chatting with some friends…one whom is actually Irish, and the topic of St Patrick’s day came up to which I exclaimed oooh we will have to go out for some green beer this year as I haven’t been out on a St Patrick’s day in London yet…at which point the conversation stopped and I was met with the same silence as I did when I made my milk comment a few weeks back.  I then explained that in Canada we make the beer turns green on St Patrick’s day and that I assumed we stole said tradition from the Irish…evidently not as neither the English or Irish constituents in the group had consumed green beer.
Based on the looks I got on the tube this morning I don’t think they dress up like leprechauns and say ‘top of the mornin’ to ya’ either… (just kidding about that last bit I really didn’t’ dress up as a leprechaun but I am really not sure if it will feel like St Patrick’s day if I am at the pub drinking regular coloured beer!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy St Patrick’s Day

  1. Mom says:

    Does this mean no green milkshakes at McDonalds?

Leave a Reply

