What are you wearing?

Today is meant to be the hottest day of the summer so far in London.  To celebrate I have dragged out my best Primark dress and my white ‘milk bag’ legs (the term lovingly given to my legs by my hubbie due to their pale colour – not cause they are short stubby and jiggly…I hope).

 

Its days like today that remind me that I do miss the heat of a Toronto summer (yes for those of you who have never been to Canada and are reading this…our igloos don’t’ last all year, they melt in the summer and we get extremely hot and humid summers).   With this heat came a nice summery tanned glow that my friends and I seemed to acquire throughout the summer and by August when you wanted to don a cute dress for the various summer weddings, your winter white legs had a nice roasted marshmallow colour to them (mmm roasted marshmallows).   

 

Now we do get sun here and I have gotten a bit of a tan on my arms but you don’t get the guaranteed sun like we did at home. Once end of July/August rolled around at home pretty much every day was sunny and cloud free…here you get the sun but it is usually accompanied by patchy clouds making it feel slightly cooler (although London would never see temps in the 30’s like in Toronto) making you less likely to lie out in your bathing suit for weekends on end.

 

The one great thing about London however is that literally anything goes…and by anything I include pasty white legs.  As I shuffled to work trying to pull my dress down to show off less of my milk bags I looked around and saw loads of girls strutting confidentially to work in dresses with (almost) whiter legs than mine, not seeming to care at all.  I do love that most Londoners have this air of confidence about them that allows them to wear clothes that certainly would get funny looks in Canada.  The thing is that they don’t seem to care if you think they look funny… white legs, short shorts, high top dock martins, fedoras (seriously saw that this morning) and all.  

 

 

It is tricky as I have spent most of my life thinking that everything in my wardrobe had to match, that leggings would never some back in style and knowing that summer meant an end to my incredibly pasty white-ness.  All of which are untrue in London….that in mind I am doing my best to be adventurous and adopt the ‘I don’t care what you think of my outfit’ attitude while roaming around the city.  The hard part will be when I repatriate to Canada for a week in August to attend a fabulous summer wedding in Toronto with my cute new dress with my pasty white legs. Come to think of it, I seem to recall my ‘don’t care attitude’ has a bit of a fear of flying….might leave her behind to watch Coronation street.  We arrive in Toronto a week before the wedding so I can use that to try and get back to my toasted marshmallow-ie glow…anyone else craving marshmallows?

This entry was posted in rambles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are you wearing?

  1. Sorry to break this to you, but you do have the whitest legs. All of those other women were nurses wearing traditional white stockings. Again, many apologies if I’m the first one to tell you about this.

  2. Tait says:

    Quote of the day: “As I shuffled to work trying to pull my dress down to show off less of my milk bags” I laughed at that one for a while.

Leave a Reply

