Happy Canada Day!

Today Canada (see map I made above for those of you needing help geographically locating said country) officially turns 141 which seems young considering most of the buildings on my street in London are just slightly younger than that and that I have drank in pubs that are older than the country in which I was born.

I am not sure how I will mark the occasion as usually I am waking up in my igloo, throwing down a shot of maple syrup, hugging my pet moose and enjoying the day ice fishing with my pet huskies. Lacking most of that I think I will take the maple leaf badge off my backpack (rucksack for you Brits), sew it to my shirt and proudly walk around London (although most people will still think I am American). I might also indulge in a drink or two of Canadian Club rye and Coke from my maple leaf flask. If I am feeling really adventurous, I might head down to The Maple Leaf pub in Covent Garden, stand in the queue for 2 hours (I tried to get today off as a holiday so I could get in the queue early but apparently Canadian isn’t a religion so doesn’t qualify as a religious holiday) only to get in and say eh, aboot and talk about last year’s hockey season with my fellow Canadians.

Anyway wherever you are and whatever you are doing today if you see a crazy person proudly sporting a maple leaf badge or other Canadian paraphernalia give them a little smile for me eh?

This entry was posted in rambles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Canada Day!

  1. Amanda says:

    ahah – love the map!

  2. Adrienne says:

    Thanks, I made it myself …well technically not the map bit but the pretty additions 🙂

Leave a Reply

