I need some ‘sporin

Okay so my running injury is looking a bit infected and goopy so I made a trip to Boots this morning to get some polysporin (or neosporin for your US readers or ‘triple antibiotic ointment’ for you store brand shoppers and for you UK readers ointment with antibiotics in it that you put on cuts and scrapes) . I was disappointed to find out however that UK pharmacies don’t carry antibiotic creams – they are only available by prescription….

Sorry? you want me to waste my time sitting in a GP office to show him my scraped hand so he can give me a prescription for something you can buy in thousands of pharmacies across Canada and the US? Forgive me as I am not a doctor but the majority of injuries antibiotic creams are used for would be little cuts and grazes from random MINOR household injuries, falling off a bike or being a sh*t runner. Don’t you think the NHS could benefit from having this cream available at pharmacies and keep the average-Joe-clumbsies our of their waiting rooms??

What I will do without my poly/neo sporin as I am missing out on triple infection protection against bacteria and 4x faster healing (who says marketing doesn’t work)? I did have a search through Boots’ ‘first aid’ aisle and found some super-fancy Elastoplast plasters (band-aids) with SILVER in them! The silver apparently kills harmful germs reducing the risk of infection….its no polysporin but they looked pretty so I bought it and will keep you posted.

If however I do contract some eczema-blue-goofus-of-the-honkus-tonkus infection from the London underground and have to have my hand amputated, I blame the NHS as I am sure a little antibiotic ointment on a plaster would have prevented it…in that case, I would be glad that they will have to pick up my surgery bill, serves them right!

This entry was posted in rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I need some ‘sporin

  1. kirstyliz says:

    I can’t believe England expects your injuries to just heal themselves in normal human time? WTF?

  2. Pete says:

    We have plenty of creams and lotions…the general idea is clean and plaster ur scrape BEFORE it infects, using Antibacterial cream Such as Savlon, with a plaster over the top. Preventing Infection, and thus no need for expencive antibiotics, which, if used on a regular basis, will become USELESS anyway as you build resistance to them

  3. Leo says:

    Yep i totaly agree. So stupid. We can smoke and drink alcohol and raise children. We also cook with butain gas bottles. But we havnt the brains to rub a pea size blob of cream onto a infected wound. We have to pester a doctor and wait for a appointment. By which time our wound could be festering.

Leave a Reply

