A runaway favourite

My running gadget

This has to be on the top of my ‘gadgets I own and not just lust after list’. Its the Nike+ gadget which tracks your running statistics via a sensor in your running shoes that communicates to a thingie you attach to your ipod – they sync and keep track of your distance, time, pace and calories burned during a run. You can also set goals in terms of time and distance and a voice comes on to tell you your progress and encourages you on. So, with said gadget in tow, I went for a run last night and decided it is sooo my new thing (and by thing I mean I have run once with it but that is one more time than I have ran in the past 10 years so I think that constitutes ‘a thing’).

To say I don’t run is an understatement and previously I could really only picture myself doing so in the event of a fire or if someone had stolen my blackberry….but this gadget has gotten me off the couch by combining two things I love, gadgetty goodness and pure old competition.

I am the first to admit that I do love a good competition (usually only when I am winning mind you) but this thing allows you to compete against yourself by having an online portal where your data gets downloaded then it tracks your runs against each other and the goals you set for yourself. You can also then compare your results against others all over the world however I might leave that for now as my 11 minute run might not compare to the 35,000-odd people who just finished the London Marathon this past weekend.

Anyhoo I tip my gadget hat to both Nike and Apple for creating such a great little tool as last night, for the first time in my life I actually enjoyed running mainly cause I loved having my fancy Nike + strapped to my arm and my fab playlists from 2001 blaring in my ear – come on, who wouldn’t love running to Shaggy’s “It wasn’t me” or Nelly Furtado’s “I’m like a bird”…..run on gadget friends, run on.

This entry was posted in rambles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A runaway favourite

  1. Patrick says:

    I love my Nike + and what could be better than Lance Armstrong giving you props for your longest workout yet…. Or Paula Ratcliff praising you for your best time for a mile…. and what No Britney Spears or Brian Adams in your playlist?

  2. Kirstin says:

    Wow – that IS cool. I might even be inclined to exercise if I had one of those (and I for one am TRULY impressed by your 11 minute run. It’s 11 minutes more than I’ve run in the past several years)

  3. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! ebkhp and 512zavqsvydxx and 9035 : I will try to recommend this post to my friends and family, cuz its really helpful.

Leave a Reply

