Adding to the ol’ vocabulary

I find this happens on a weekly occurrence…I read or hear a word and have to rush to a computer to google or wikipedia it.  The word I found today is ‘publican’.  To put it in context, I was reading about a man who was a publican. Any guesses??  A publican is a keeper of a public house or tavern….okay, so what does that make a republican?

This entry was posted in London, rambles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adding to the ol’ vocabulary

  1. Lorraine Bentley says:

    I did know what a publican was, I did not know (the first visit) what a free house was. How wonderful I thought, some of the pubs served free beer! Oh, and never ask for Lemon Squash in a pub, everyone stops talking and looks!!

Leave a Reply

