Divinity Fudge

The other day I was reading a book about a pastry chef (move over Shakespeare, chick lit is where it’s at) as such it had a recipe between each new chapter (more value for your money, a novel AND a cookbook). I normally ignore recipes of any kind however one of them, Divinity Fudge, reminded me of my as my Grandfather used to make it for me a lot as a kid. He would also let me eat as much as I wanted and due to the sugar content I was usually physically vibrating from a sugar high when my parents came to pick me up.

Divinity fudge isn’t like traditional fudge that you would normally cut a chunk off of and eat, it is more like mini soft meringues.  After seeing the recipe I had an instant craving to make it. The recipe is fairly simple but I am impatient and usually don’t wait for the sugar to get to hard ball stage (not owning a candy thermometer means I guess and always get it wrong) but they turned out okay.

The key (other than getting the hard ball stage bit right) as my grandfather used to say, was to ‘beat air in it’s pants’ (American pants aka trousers, not British pants aka undies) once you mixed it all together by taking a wooden spoon and beating it to death…I did this then plugged in the electric mixer for some added oomph  – I ended up spraying the wall and floor with the wonderfully sticky and sugary goo.

Beating the air in it's pants

Beating the air in it's pants

The recipe is below (bear in mind my Grandfather was diabetic – I don’t recommend any diabetics attempting this recipe). Just in case you are wondering, I made these Friday and I only have 5 left and the hubby has only had 2 – they are a bit too sweet for his liking….which is fine by me!

Divinity Fudge

Divinity Fudge recipe

2.5 cups of sugar
1/2 cup light corn syrup (aka Golden Syrup in the UK)
1/2 cup water
pinch of salt
3 large egg whites
1tsp vanilla
1/2 cup dried cherries, blueberries or cranberries (optional – I tend to leave these out as they are too healthy)
1/2 chopped pecans (optional –  I also leave these out as I am a purist when it comes to sugary treats)

In a 2 quart saucepan mix the sugar corn syrup water and salt.  Using a candy thermometer heat to hardball stage (250 to 266 degrees) stirring only until sugar is dissolved.  Meanwhile beat the eggs to stiff peaks.  When the syrup reaches 260 degrees F add it gradually to the egg whites while beating at high speed in a mixer.  Continue to beat until the candy takes shape (about 5 minutes) Stir in vanilla, nuts and dries fruit.  Quickly drop the candy from a teaspoon on to waxed paper finishing each piece with a swirl and cool to room temperature.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Divinity Fudge

  1. Joy says:

    My grandmother would add chocolate chips and sliced nuts — never tried the fruit. Agreed, sounds too healthy.

  2. Anonymous says:

    sounds good

  3. Mary Jo Ryan says:

    How do I store this? Yes it’s the only way from having everyone gobble it up before I can put it out for our family get together on Christmas Eve?
    My mother-in-law made divinity every year. I miss her’s so much that I haven’t felt I could tackle it and make it as good as her. She is gone now for 5 years and I think this one will fill the void happily on our family get-together.

    • Adrienne says:

      It freezes quite well…the issue is defrosting it because I was always impatient and microwaved it and it kinda melted. If you can leave it at room temperature for a few hours it should be good to go. I tended to also store it in aluminium foil cause it didn’t stick like cling film.

      Good luck! The fudge is very nostalgic and brings happy memories to me as well!

  4. My husbands mother passed away 2 years ago and she would make this for him, this recipe is sure to bring him a lot of happiness and good memories:) Thankyou.

  5. hazel eyan says:

    divinity did not get hard enough to drop. Any way to use this in another recipe for candy?

Leave a Reply

